Home > News updates > Event > Varsity Cup 2017 won by Habibiz

Varsity Cup 2017 won by Habibiz

PIFA Corporate Leagues a division of PIFA organized another successful football tournament to promote Indian football under the grassroots development guideline’s of AIFF.

The Varsity Cup was specially designed for College / University students especially for those going abroad for further studies.

Ten teams participated in the two-day tournament held on 29 & 30 July 2017 at the PIFA Centre of Excellence Training Centre in Mahalaxmi.

Team Habibiz Captain Arsh Majithia scored the first two goals to lift the coveted Varsity Cup 2017. They beat an exhausted Bamba FC 5-0 in the finale.

Habibiz beat Purple Haze in the semi finals 4-1, while Bamba FC beat UFC 3-0 which was undoubtedly the toughest game of the tournament. This game exhausted the Bamba FC players in their final match.

In the Twenty-three matches 126 goals were scored, averaging 5 goals a match. Karan Dave (Habibiz), Shanay Surana (Bamab FC) and Divyam Bhatra (Purple Haze) scored 8 goals each.

Karan Dave got the Highest Goal scorer having scored in the Final while Shanay Surana got the Best Player Award.

PIFA’s Neel Shah presented the prizes to all the winners.